Our Disciplic Succession:
Srila Bhakti Nirmal Acharya Maharaj  Srila Bhakti Sundar Govinda Dev-Goswami Maharaj  Srila Bhakti Raksak Sridhar Dev-Goswami Maharaj  Bhagavan Srila Bhaktisiddhanta Saraswati Thakur Prabhupad
"The Sun Never Sets on Sri Chaitanya Saraswat Math":
Worldwide Affiliate Branches and Centres

Sri Nabadwip Dham Parikrama, Day One

1 March 2015


The first day of the annual Sri Nabadwip Dham Parikrama is the longest as it covers three of the nine islands of Sri Nabadwip (Antardwip, Simantadwip, and Rudradwip) and the most auspicious as it always falls on Amalaki Ekadashi and takes the pilgrims to the very heart of Sri Gauda Mandal—the appearance place of Sriman Mahaprabhu.


The day begins at 4:30 a.m. from the arati of Srila Gurudev, Srila Bhakti Sundar Govinda Dev-Goswami Maharaj.

The arati then continues at the samadhi mandir of Srila Bhakti Raksak Sridhar Dev-Goswami Maharaj.

The final arati is at the temple of Sri Sri Guru Gauranga Gandharva Govindasundar Jiu, at the end of which His Divine Grace Srila B.N. Acharya Maharaj comes to start Sri Nabadwip Dham Parikrama.

At the samadhi mandir of Srila B.S. Govinda Maharaj His Divine Grace chants Gurudev krpa bindu diya, and, circumambulating the temples of the Math, inaugurates the Parikrama.

Because of the enormous number of pilgrims, the whole procession consisted of more or less four parts: the first group walked ahead carrying the banner of Sri Chaitanya Saraswat Math, then the main cart at which His Divine Grace Srila Bhakti Nirmal Acharya Maharaj led the kirtan, some 100-200 meters later there was arranged another cart (managed by the Uluberia devotees) to be able to maintain kirtan throughout the crowd, and, finally, right at the end the rest of the crowd walked at a more leisurely pace along with the rikshaw, auto-rikshaw and "flats" that carried those who could not do the parikrama on foot.

To reach Antardwip, the devotees have to cross the Ganges, which takes more than five ferries to accomplish.

When everybody has crossed the Ganges, the parikrama party continues its way to the first stop at Sri Chaitanya Gaudiya Math of Sripad B.D. Madhav Maharaj.

Samadhi mandir of Sripad Bhakti Daitya Madhav Maharaj.

The entrance gate of the Math. The parikrama party does not stop here for long, only to pray respect and obeisance, and then continues its way to the next stop, at Sri Nandan Acharya Bhavan.

Sri Nandan Acharya Bhavan, where Sriman Nityananda Prabhu famously met Sriman Mahaprabhu for the very first time, and that is also the temple of Sripad Bhakti Saranga Goswami Maharaj, a dear sannyas disciple of Srila B.R. Sridhar Dev-Goswami Maharaj, who would yearly visit this temple on the Vyasa-Puja of Sripad Goswami Maharaj.

Samadhi mandir of Sripad Goswami Maharaj.

Every year, the Parikrama party stops here for kirtan and Hari-katha and then continues its way to the puspa samadhi mandir of Srila A.C. Bhaktivendanta Swami Maharaj Prabhupad (Sri Mayapur Chandradaya Mandir, Iskcon).

The spacious territory of the temple becomes flooded with the devotees of our Math and the loud sounds of Sankirtan.

Then, the party resumes the Sankirtan on to Sri Yogapith, the very birthplace of Sriman Mahaprabhu,
rediscovered by Srila Bhakti Vinod Thakur's divine vision.

The Yogapith Temple.

The main entrance gate.

Loud. Intense. Glorious.

During the lecture, His Divine Grace chanted from Sri Nabadwip Dham Mahatmya where it is described
how Sri Nityananda Prabhu took Srila Jiva Goswami to visit Sachi Mata at this very place.

The main Deities at Sri Yogapith Temple.

The second, central, altar: Sriman Mahaprabhu with His eternal consorts Laksmi Priya Devi and Visnu Priya Devi.

The rightmost altar: the Deities of Pancha-Tattva.

The neem tree under which Nimai, later known as Sri Krishna Chaitanya Mahaprabhu,
appeared from the womb of Sach Mata.

Sri Sachi Mata, Sri Jagannath Mishra and their baby son, Nimai, in the small temple to the right of the neem tree.

After a while, the Parikrama continues to Srivas Angan and several more places.

The entrance gate to Sri Srivas Angan, one of the three places where as Mahaprabhu famously said He always stayed.

The temple is very small and quiet, so after some kirtan, the party continues to Sri Acharya Bhavan, located just next to Sri Srivas Angan. After that, the next stop is Sri Chaitanya Math of Srila Bhakti Siddhanta Saraswati Thakur.

The samadhi mandir of Bhagavan Srila Bhakti Siddhanta Saraswati Thakur Prabhupad.

The main temple is behind, a short walk away.

Sri Sri Guru Gauranga Gandharva Giridhari Jiu, the Deities installed by Srila Bhakti Siddhanta Saraswati Thakur.

Within the premises of the temple, there is also the samadhi mandir of Srila Gaura Kishor Das Babaji Maharaj, the initiating Guru of Srila Bhakti Siddhanta Saraswati Thakur. His original samadhi mandir made by Srila Prabhupad was washed away by the Ganges, but Srila Prabhupad transferred whatever remained from it to this place.

Srila Gaura Kishor Das Babaji Maharaj's murti.

And the way continues further: the place where Sriman Mahaprabhu was having a kirtan and Chand Kazi broke the mridanga and was thereafter gloriously liberated by Mahaprabhu Himself.

Then the time came to have anukalpa prasadam: fruit, potato, and more fruit.

Srila Acharya Maharaj personally directed the servitors during the distribution,
making sure everybody was well-fed and happy.

After the prasadam, His Divine Grace took the devotees to the Jagannath Temple located just close-by and read from Sri Nabadwip Dham Mahatmya about the glories of this place. After that, the Parikrama party continued their way to Sri Simantadwip and Sri Rudradwip, while most of the devotees who could not manage to continue the way returned back to the Math.


In the evening, with tireless energy, His Divine Grace led a full evening programme: class and kirtans.

The programme was well-attended despite the tiredness of all the devotees.


If you dishonour Vaishnavs, Krishna cannot tolerate it.