Our Disciplic Succession:
Srila Bhakti Nirmal Acharya Maharaj  Srila Bhakti Sundar Govinda Dev-Goswami Maharaj  Srila Bhakti Raksak Sridhar Dev-Goswami Maharaj  Bhagavan Srila Bhaktisiddhanta Saraswati Thakur Prabhupad
"The Sun Never Sets on Sri Chaitanya Saraswat Math":
Worldwide Affiliate Branches and Centres

At Sri Yogapith

His Divine Grace Om Vishnupad
Srila Bhakti Nirmal Acharya Maharaj
Sri Nabadwip Dham Parikrama, Day Two
18 March 2019, Sri Yogapith (Mayapur)


By the mercy of Srila Gurudev, we have come here to Sri Yogapith. This is the birthplace of Sri Chaitanya Mahaprabhu—He appeared under the neem tree that still stands just outside in the courtyard. The Lord Himself bestowed His mercy upon Sri Sachi Devi and Sri Jagannath Misra and appeared as their son. His Name, given to Him at birth, is Vishvambhar; He is also known as Nimai because He appeared under a neem tree; and later, when He took sannyas, His name became Sri Krishna Chaitanya.

This place is in Antardwip. The whole of Nabadwip is an eight petal lotus flower—there are eight islands situated on outside as petals and Antardwip is in the middle of the lotus as its core. As we told before when speaking about Srila Bhaktivinod Thakur, when Srila Bhaktivinod Thakur found this place, he brought Srila Jagannath Das Babaji Maharaj here. Srila Bhaktivinod Thakur traced the former current of the Ganges, that it was flowing where Madhai ghat is. In the course of time, the Ganga flooded this whole area, but she eventually dried this land and the birthplace of the Lord, this Yogapith, emerged again.

Our Param Gurudev Om Vishnupad Srila Bhakti Raksak Sridhar Dev-Goswami Maharaj also used to stay nearby, at Sri Chaitanya Math. From here, we will go next to Srivas Angan (the house of Srila Srivas Pandit), the house of Srila Gadadhar Pandit, Sri Chaitanya Math, after that to the samadhi of Chand Kazi, and then to Jagannath temple.

Actually, Sri Nityananda Prabhu first circumambulated this Sri Nabadwip Dham with Srila Jiva Goswami Prabhu, and Srila Bhaktivinod Thakur describes it in his Sri Nabadwip Dham Mahatmya (Chapter 5, 'Sri Mayapur and Antardwip'):

jaya jaya sri-chaitanya sachira nandana
jaya jaya nityananda jahnavi-jivana [1]

All glory to the son of Sachi, Sri Chaitanya! All glory to the life of Jahnava, Sri Nityananda!

jaya jaya navadvipa-dhama sarva-dhama-sara
yatha kali-yuge haila gaura avatara [2]

All glory to Nabadwip Dham, the best of all abodes, where Gaura descended during the Age of Kali!

nityananda prabhu bale, "sunaha vachana
sola-krosa navadvipa yatha vrndavana [3]

Nityananda Prabhu said, "Listen to My words! The thirty-two miles of Nabadwip are nondifferent from Vrindavan.

ei sola-krosa madhye dvipa haya naya
asta-dala padma yena jalete bhasaya [4]

"Within these thirty-two miles, there are nine islands, which form an eight-petalled lotus that floats on water.

asta-dala asta-dvipa madhye antardvipa
tara majhe mayapura madhya-bindu-tipa [5]

"In the middle of the eight petals—the eight islands—is Antardwip. At its centre is Mayapur.

mayapura yoga-pitha sada golakara
tatha nitya chaitanyera vividha bihara [6]

"The circular Yogapith in Mayapur is eternal. There, Sri Chaitanya performs various eternal Pastimes.

trisahasra-dhanu tara paridhi pramana
sahasreka-dhanu tara vyasera vidhana [7]

"Its circumference is six miles, and its diameter two miles.

ei yoga-pitha-majhe vaise pancha-tattva
anya-sthana haite yoga-pithera mahattva [8]

"The Pancha Tattva reside at the Yogapith, whose greatness exceeds that of all other places.

ati sighra gupta habe prabhura ichchhaya
bhagirathi-jale habe sangopita praya [9]

"Very soon it will be hidden by the will of the Lord. The waters of the Ganga will almost entirely conceal it.

At first, everything, all crop fields of this area, went under water but then again re-emerged.

kabhu punah prabhu-ichchha habe balavan
prakasa ha-ibe dhama habe diptiman [10]

"Someday, when the desire of the Lord becomes strong, the Yogapith will be revealed and the Dham will shine again.

nitya-dhama kabhu kale lopa nahi haya
gupta haye punar-bara haya ta udaya [11]

"The eternal Dham is never lost at any time—it only becomes hidden and then emerges again.

bhagirathi purva-tire haya mayapura
mayapure nitya achhena amara thakura [12]

"My Lord is eternally present in Mayapur on the eastern bank of the Ganga.

It says here at Mayapur stands on the eastern bank of the Bhagirathi (Ganga), but there are some sahajiyas that claim that Mayapur is in Koladwip, on the opposite bank—they have even made a temple called 'prachin mayapur' there—but Mahaprabhu's birthplace is here in Yogapith, in this very house. Always remember this.

loka-drstye sannyasi ha-iya visvambhara
chhadi' navadvipa phire desa-desantara [13]

"In the vision of common people, Visvambhar became a sannyasi, left Nabadwip, and toured other places.

vastutah gauranga mora navadvipa-dhama
chhadiya na yaya kabhu mayapura-grama [14]

"In truth, however, My Gauranga never leaves Nabadwip Dham or the village of Mayapur.

Many think that Mahaprabhu left Nabadwip and travelled to many places, went to Puri, etc.; many also say that Krishna left everything and went to Mathura—is it not? Krishna may have gone to Mathura leaving Vrindavan, but Vrindavan Krishna never leaves Vrindavan. There is Dwarakesh Krishna, there is Mathuresh Krishna, and there is also Vraja Krishna—Vraja Krishna never leaves Vrindavan.

অধ্যাপিহ সেই লীলা করে গোরা-রায় ।
কোন কোন ভাগ্যবান জীব দেখিবারে পায় ॥

adyapiha sei lila kare gora raya
kona kona bhagyavane jiva dekhibare paya

"Gora Ray continues performing His Pastimes, and those who are fortunate can see it."

Gauranga Mahaprabhu performs His pastimes even now, and those who have the eyes, who have the fortune can see everything, but those who do not say all these wrong things—they say Mahaprabhu left everything, that Mahaprabhu disappeared in this place, in that place, etc. The Lord's pastimes are still going on here, and it is by our great fortune that we have come here to take the darshan of Yogapith. We shall pay our obeisance here and then proceed to Sri Chaitanya Math...


The domes of Sri Yogapith temple.



— : • : —





{ 2001  |   2002  |   2003  |   2005  |   2009  |   2010  |   2011  |   2012 }
{ 2013  |   2014  |   2015  |   2016  |   2017  |   2018  |   2019  |   2020  |   2021 }

Download (2.9 Mb)



Reforming Others
Three educational stories from the life of Srila Bhakti Siddhanta Saraswati Thakur and his disciple Sripad B.D. Madhav Maharaj.


'I offer my obeisance unto the lotus feet of Sri Guru, who is said by all the scriptures to be the Lord Himself, and considered to be so by the sadhus, yet is the Lord's beloved devotee.'

We belong to Srila Sridhar Maharaj's temple—we do not mix with so many people.