В поисках Господа Джаганнатха

Его Божественная Милость Ом Вишнупад
Шрила Бхакти Нирмал Ачарья Махарадж
17 июля 2013 года

 

Как появился Господь Джаганнатх?

Вишвавасу однажды в джунглях нашел камень и начал поклоняться ему, думая, что этот камень — божество или какой-нибудь полубог, а этот камень превратился в мурти Нараяны, Вишну.

В то же время у царя Ориссы Индрадьюмны появилось одно особое желание. Он думал: «У меня все есть: у меня есть царица, у меня есть целое царство и все остальное, но все равно есть что-то, чего я до сих пор так и не смог сделать: я никогда не поклонялся Господу. Я не сделал ничего для служения Богу». Он думал о Боге, и чаитйа-гуру привел его к маханта-гуру — он услышал голос с небес: «Я жду тебя. Я здесь, не так далеко, как ты думаешь».

Любовный поиск потерянного слуги: это напоминает Гопала, который тоже ждал Мадхвендру Пури, но в случае Мадхавендры Пури Гопал дал ему указание и показал место: «Я здесь», но в этот раз Господь не дал никаких указаний, поэтому царю Индрадьюмне пришлось самому искать место, где находился Господь. Все, что он знал, это то, что Господь был рядом, и что Он его ждет.

Царь разослал солдат на поиски Господа. Сначала он отправил отряд на север, затем на юг, а затем на запад, но они ничего не нашли. Царь думал: «Господь сказал, что Он рядом, но я никак не могу Его найти... Я должен отыскать Его!» Он предлагал поклоны, как вдруг к нему пришел премьер-министр Видьяпати. Царь приказал ему: «Я знаю, что Господь где-то недалеко, но я не могу Его найти. Поезжай и найди Его, ты должен отыскать Его во что бы то ни стало».

Видьяпати подумал: «Солдаты искали в трех направлениях, но они еще не пробовали искать на востоке. Восток благоприятное направление, поеду-ка я туда».

Он отправился в путь, и спустя много дней оказался в огромных джунглях. Перед ним был большой холм, речка, а вокруг сплошной густой лес. Видьяпати думал про себя: «Как я здесь очутился? Что меня сюда занесло?» Вдруг он увидел молодую девушку. Он удивился: «Девушка! Здесь нельзя оставаться! Не знаю, что меня только сюда завело». Он быстро развернулся и хотел было уйти, как девушка окликнула его: «Подождите! Почему же Вы уходите? На вид Вы брахман; пожалуйста, останьтесь. Наша каста сабара [нецивилизованные], наш долг — служить Вам». Видьяпати не знал, что ответить. «Она же девушка, как я могу здесь остаться?» — думал он. Только он было собрался уйти, как она добавила: «Пожалуйста, не уходите, отец разозлится». Как только она это сказал, пришел ее отец: «Почему Вы уходите? Дочь говорит, чтобы Вы остались. Пожалуйста, будьте нашим гостем». Видьяпати объяснил: «Я думал, что Ваша дочь здесь одна и мне не следует здесь оставаться, это было бы неправильно, но раз Вы пришли, я могу остаться». Он остался у них на несколько дней.

Девушку ту звали Лалитой, а отца ее — Вишвавасу. Она была очень рада встрече с Видьяпати, и Видьяпати тоже в скором времени влюбился в нее. Они поженились.

Однажды Видьяпати спросил у жены:

— Лалита, твой отец каждый день уходит куда-то на целый день, а когда возвращается под ночь, от него исходит такой приятный запах сандалового дерева, камфоры... Скажи, куда он каждый день ходит?

— Он ходит куда-то и поклоняется там какому-то богу.

— Твой отец поклоняется Богу? Где?!

— Я не знаю.

— Ты можешь отвести меня туда и показать это место?

— Я не знаю, где это, но могу попросить отца, чтобы он сводил тебя.

Когда она спросил отца, Вишвавасу очень расстроился: «Ты уже рассказала ему об этом?! Я слышал, что приедет царь и заберет божество с собой, поэтому я все это время прятался здесь, а ты взяла и обо всем ему рассказала?» Он так сильно огорчился, что даже думал, не убить ли Видьяпати (своего зятя). В итоге он сказал Лалите: «Хорошо, что поделать? Я могу сводить его, но он пойдет с завязанными черной тканью глазами».

Лалита вернулась к мужу, сказала, что отец согласился, и добавила: «Отец может обмануть тебя, но я не могу: я твоя жена, а ты мой муж. Я помогу тебе». Она дала ему горчичные зерна, и пока Видьяпати шел вместе в Вишвавасу, он потихоньку бросал их на землю, чтобы отметить дорогу. Когда они пришли на место, он увидел, как Вишвавасу проводит пуджу и прочее служение.

Какое-то время спустя горчичные зерна проросли, и по ним он смог определить дорогу и дойти туда уже самостоятельно. Тогда он сказал жене: «Лалита, я здесь уже так много дней, живу в доме твоего отца, но у меня ведь тоже есть дом и родители. Мне нужно съездить с ним».

— Как, ты уезжаешь?!

— Да, но я вернусь.

— Хорошо...

Видьяпати приехал к царю Индрадьюмне и подробно рассказал ему обо всем: «Мне удалось осуществить то, за чем Вы послали меня. Я нашел Господа!»

— Рассказывай, рассказывай! Где это?

— Я знаю, где это место, поезжайте со мной.

Царь собрал всех солдат, слонов, лошадей и со всей этой процессией отправился за Господом. Господь же сказал ему: «Я так не пойду! Сначала построй Мне храм, тогда Я приду». Вместе с этим Господь сказал и Вишвавасу: «Мне теперь хочется радж бхогу, хороший прасад. Каждый день ты даешь мне канда-мула (коренья, на вкус напоминающие сладкий картофель), Мне надоело». Господь обратился к обоим, к царю и Своему слуге.

В итоге, царь Индрадьюмна построил храм: так храм Джаганнатха и появился.

 

 

Архив:   2009  |   2010  |   2011  |   2012  |   2013  |   2014  |   2015  |   2016  |   2017  |   2018

Оригинал статьи на английском.

 


 

Любовный поиск потерянного слуги
«Когда же ты придешь ко Мне? Когда же ты придешь служить Мне?» Господь доходит до крайностей, ожидая, когда мы придем к Нему. Почему же мы так и не можем к Нему прийти?

«Даже секундное общение может принести высшее благо».

ХАРЕ КРИШНА ХАРЕ КРИШНА КРИШНА КРИШНА ХАРЕ ХАРЕ | ХАРЕ РАМА ХАРЕ РАМА РАМА РАМА ХАРЕ ХАРЕ

Lord Jagannath: Discovery

His Divine Grace Om Vishnupad
Srila Bhakti Nirmal Acharya Maharaj
17 July 2013

 

How did Lord Jagannath appear?

Visvavasu once found a stone and started worshiping it in the jungle thinking the stone to be a deity of some demigod. The stone turned into Narayana, or Vishnu, murti.

At the same time, Indradyumna, the king of Odisha, got a particular desire. He thought, "I have everything—I have a queen, I have a whole kingdom, etc.—but one thing I still have not been able to do is to serve the Lord. I have not done anything to serve the Lord." He thought of the Lord and his chaitya guru took him to his mahanta guru: he heard a message from the sky, "I am waiting for you. I am here—not as far as you think."

Loving search for the lost servant—it reminds of Gopal who was also waiting for Madhavendra Puri, but in Madhavendra Puri's case Gopal gave him direction and showed him the place, "I am here," but this time the Lord did not give any direction, so King Indradyumna had to find out the place himself. All he knew was that the Lord was there and was waiting for him.

The king sent all his soldiers to search for the Lord. First, he sent a group to the North, then the South, and then the West. They got nothing. The king thought, "The Lord said He was there, but I cannot find Him... I must find Him!" He was paying obeisance and suddenly his prime minister, Vidyapati, came. The king ordered him, "I know the Lord is here, but I cannot find Him. Go and find Him, by hook or by crook but you must find Him."

Vidyapati thought, "The soldiers have searched in three of the directions, but they have not tried the East side. East is a very auspicious side. I must go there."

He set off and after many days of travelling found himself in a huge jungle. There was a big hill, some river and a very dense forest all around. Vidyapati wondered, "How did I get here? Who brought me here?" Suddenly he saw a girl. He was surprised, "A girl! I must not stay here! I do not know what brought me here." He quickly turned back and wanted to leave, but the girl called out to him, "Wait! Why are you leaving? You look like a brahmin, you must stay. We are savara by caste (uncivilized) and it is our duty to serve you." Vidyapati did not know what to say, he thought, "She is a girl, how can I stay here?" He was about to leave, but then she said, "Please do not leave, my father will be angry." As soon as she said it, her father came out, "Why are you leaving? My daughter is telling you to stay. Please be our guest." Vidyapati explained to him, "I thought your daughter was alone here and I should not stay here, it would not be right, but now that you have come I can stay." He stayed with them for a few days.

The father's name was Visvavasu, and the girl's name was Lalita. She was very happy to see Vidyapati, and Vidyapati too soon fell in love with her, and they got married.

One day Vidyapati asked his wife,

"Lalita, every day your father goes somewhere for the whole day. He returns at night and so much nice smell is coming from him—sandalwood, karpur (camphor)... Where does he go every day?"

"Well, my father goes to some place where he worships some god, the Lord."

"He worships the Lord? Where?!"

"I do not know."

"Can you take me there and show the place?"

"I do not know where it is, but I can ask my father to take you there."

When she asked her father, Visvavasu was very unhappy, "Have you already told that man?! I heard some king will come and take the Deities away, so I have been hiding here all this time, but you have already told him everything?" He was so unhappy that he thought he would kill Vidyapati, his son-in-law. Finally, he said to his daughter, "OK, what can I do? I can take him there, but he has to go with his eyes tied with a black cloth."

Lalita came back to her husband and told her that her father had agreed. She also said, "Father can cheat you, but I cannot cheat you—I am your wife and you are my husband. I am going to help you." She gave him some mustard seeds and as Vidyapati was going to that place, he dropped the seeds on the ground, marking the road. When they came to the place he saw how Visvavasu did puja and other things.

Later on, the mustard seeds sprouted and grew into mustard trees, so he knew now the way to the place and could go there on his own. Then he said to his wife, "Lalita, I have been here for so many days, I am staying here at your father's house, but I also have parents and a home. I must go there."

"Are you leaving?!"

"Yes, but I will come back."

"All right..."

Vidyapati went to King Indradyumna and told him everything in detail, "What you had sent me for, I have succeeded in that. I have found the Lord!"

"Tell me, tell me! Where is it?"

"I know the place, come with me."

The king took all his soldiers, elephants, horses, and with all that procession went to take the Lord. The Lord said to him, "I will not go in this way! First make a temple for Me, then I will come." At the same time, the Lord also said to Visvavasu, "Now I want to taste raj bhog, good prasadam. Every day you have been giving me kanda mul [a root that tastes like sweet potato]. I am tired of it." The Lord spoke to both of them, the king and his servant.

So, King Indradyumna made a temple: this is how the Jagannath temple appeared.

 

· · • • • · ·

 

 

 

{ 2001  |   2002  |   2003  |   2009 }
{ 2010  |   2011  |   2012  |   2013  |   2014  |   2015  |   2016  |   2017  |   2018 }

Listen online:

Download (2.3 Mb)

 


 

Near and Dear
'If you think your Guru is far, then how far is Krishna? Venezuela and India are not so far from each other compared to Goloka Vrindavan, where Krishna lives.'

 

Jaya 'guru-maharaja'
'O manifestation of the principle of inconceivable difference and nondifference (union in separation)! This humble servant chants your glories and worships you with joy.'
জয় ‘গুরু-মহারাজ’

Sometimes, because of our bad karma or some bad association, Maya Devi
takes our time and uses it for her service.

HARE KRISHNA HARE KRISHNA KRISHNA KRISHNA HARE HARE | HARE RAMA HARE RAMA RAMA RAMA HARE HARE